Burrito Brothers Part I: Sweet Corn and Mango Salsa Recipe

May 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Last week I had the Sweet Potato Black Bean burrito from Burrito Brothers for the first time.  I’ve lived in Gainesville for almost 20 years and I’ve never ordered this burrito? How could that be?  For those of you who don’t know, Burrito Brothers is basically a taco stand that used to be at the busiest corner on the University of Florida’s campus.  It is undoubtably a Gainesville institution popular with students and alum alike.  In fact, they will FedEx frozen burritosA few years back, after the original location was torn down, it moved to the back of a church where it is ridiculously hard to find if you don’t know where to look.

I loved this burrito so much that when I got sweet potatoes and corn in the CSA box this week, I attempted to make my own version which will appear here in two parts:  Part 1 Salsa, Part 2 The Burrito.  In addition to the sweet potatoes and black beans, the burrito also includes a sweet corn salsa.  I figured the first step to replicating my Burrito Brothers’ burrito was to figure out the salsa.  All though it wasn’t exactly the same, I think it works.

Sweet Corn and Mango Salsa Recipe

This recipe is not exact so make it according to your own taste.  I used a food processor to chop the peppers and corn.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 Ears cooked sweet corn stripped from the cob (you can use a can of corn)
  • 2 Ripe Mangos (cubed)
  • 1 c. Sweet peppers (chopped)(I used mini sweet peppers, but you can use a red pepper)
  • 1/2 c. Sweet onion (chopped)
  • 4 tsp Fresh chopped mint
  • 4 tsp Fresh chopped cilantro
  • Juice from about 1 lemon
  • Salt to taste
  • You could also add a bit of hot pepper to give it a kick.

Directions:

Combine all ingredients into a large bowl.  Stir to combine the ingredients.  Season to taste.  You can eat it right away or let it sit for about an hour in the refrigerator to let the ingredients meld together.  And this is what you get…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Burrito Brothers Part I: Sweet Corn and Mango Salsa Recipe at Seed.

meta